Chocolate Mousse from Tofu (YES TOFU)!

So, I realize I have been neglecting my baking blog—boo me. But in my defense, I have been making some lifestyle changes with my food. About a month or so ago, I watched The Oprah Winfrey Show and her Vegan Challenge with her staff. Needless to say, it really changed my perspectives on things. I’ve never been a big fan of meat in general, so this wouldn’t be the biggest leap for me. My family still tells the story of when I was 5, and took my last bite of a hamburger at a restaurant in Delaware and still had it in my mouth in New York. Ick! And although, I’ve had a long love affair with cheese, I’ve decided to cut back on dairy to about 80 percent. I have to say a month later –I feel TERRIFIC. So here is one of my first Vegan recipes and it was soooo yummy. And for you WW pals, it’s 6 point on the new points plus plan.

Chocolate Tofu Mousse

Yields: about 5 servings

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz silken tofu
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips or carob chips
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 Tbsp Agave Nectar
  • 1/2  cup  Silk Pure Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Take tofu out of package  and place between layers of paper towels and then place a plate on top with cans to weight it down and squeeze out any excess liquid. Let rest for about 5 minutes

In food processor puree silken tofu until smooth.

Microwave chocolate chips in 30-second increments, stirring each time, until melted. Turn off heat, whisk in cocoa powder and agave nectar (you can use honey or Splenda if you are looking for less calories). Stir until well combined. The mixture will be stiff and a bit sticky.

In a food processor, add melted chocolate, vanilla, and almond milk to pureed tofu until smooth and combined. For extra silkiness, place mixture through a sieve into a medium bowl, pressing with a spoon or spatula. This will eliminate any lumps.

Scoop mixture into five serving dishes (each serving is about 3- 3 1/2 oz), and refrigerate until chilled, about 30 minutes to 1 hour. Garnish desserts with grated chocolate, chocolate chips, fresh mint, or raspberries, if desired.

This entry was posted in Custards and Puddings, Skinny Style, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Mousse from Tofu (YES TOFU)!

  1. Carrie says:

    I’ll def try this!! Love the recipe & the healthy changes ur making. :-)

Leave a Reply

